New Year Resolutions 

It’s the time of year when people start thinking about their New Year Resolutions. 

I’m going to lose weight! 

says my sister. I can’t recall how many years she has churned this one out. 

Mum uses that one too. Another involves the cleanliness of the house or resolving to have some room or another redecorated. 

I’ve tried resolutions before. 

I’m going to keep a diary! 

I’ll stop biting my nails

I’m going to lose weight


Yes folks, I’ve tried that too. And yes, I did manage to lose weight. I just have a notorious habit of finding it again once I’ve lost it, plus a few extra. 

I think the only one I’ve really kept is to stop biting my nails. It’s an awful habit I used to be into. Actually I am quite proud of my nails now. I have them painted all sparkly for the festive season 🙂 

Anyway the point is, I can’t keep New Year’s resolutions. To those that can, hats off to you! But I can’t. 

That doesn’t mean I don’t have any goals in mind for the future, but I like to just see how I go. There’s something about putting a goal on paper, in someone’s ear or on the Internet that just makes a flip switch in my head. Maybe it’s the fear that I can’t fulfil it for the whole year. I don’t know. 

If I make a goal it has to start off generic, like, I want to make progress on the novel I’m writing. That in itself is enough. The development of the project then motivates me from there. I hated at school the targets they made you set. Here called SMART targets. 

Specific, Measurable , Achievable , Realistic, Timed 

Anyone else know of these? 

What are your views? Do you set New Year Resolutions? Do you keep them? I’d love to hear from you! 

Leave a Reply

